PRESS COMMUNIQUE

PRESIDENT ALLOTS PORTFOLIOS TO 27 CABINET MINISTERS, 7 MINISTERS OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) AND 38 MINISTERS OF STATE

28-05-2009 : Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi

The President of India, as advised by the Prime Minister, has been pleased to direct the allocation of portfolios among the following members of the Union Council of Ministers: -

CABINET MINISTERS

CAI	DINET MINISTERS	
1.	Shri Virbhadra Singh	Minister of Steel
2.	Shri Vilasrao Deshmukh	Minister of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises
3.	Shri Ghulam Nabi Azad	Minister of Health and Family Welfare
4.	Shri Sushil Kumar Shinde	Minister of Power
5.	Shri M. Veerappa Moily	Minister of Law and Justice
6.	Dr. Farooq Abdullah	Minister of New and Renewable Energy
7.	Shri S. Jaipal Reddy	Minister of Urban Development
8.	Shri Kamal Nath	Minister of Road Transport and Highways
9.	Shri Vayalar Ravi	Minister of Overseas Indian Affairs
10.	Smt. Meira Kumar	Minister of Water Resources
11.	Shri Dayanidhi Maran	Minister of Textiles
12.	Shri A. Raja	Minister of Communications and Information Technology
13.	Shri Murli Deora	Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas

		2
14.	Smt. Ambika Soni	Minister of Information and Broadcasting
15.	Shri Mallikarjun Kharge	Minister of Labour and Employment
16.	Shri Kapil Sibal	Minister of Human Resource Development
17.	Shri B.K. Handique	Minister of Mines and Minister of Development of North Eastern Region
18.	Shri Anand Sharma	Minister of Commerce and Industry
19.	Shri C.P. Joshi	Minister of Rural Development and Minister of Panchayati Raj
20.	Kum. Selja	Minister of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation and Minister of Tourism
21.	Shri Subodh Kant Sahay	Minister of Food Processing Industries
22.	Dr. M.S. Gill	Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports
23.	Shri G.K. Vasan	Minister of Shipping
24.	Shri Pawan K. Bansal	Minister of Parliamentary Affairs
25.	Shri Mukul Wasnik	Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment
26.	Shri Kantilal Bhuria	Minister of Tribal Affairs
27.	Shri M.K. Alagiri	Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers

MINISTERS OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE)

1. Shri Praful Patel Minister of State (Independent Charge) of Ministry Civil Aviation

2.	Shri	Prithviraj	Chavan
----	------	------------	--------

Minister of State (Independent Charge) of Ministry of Science and Technology; Minister of State (Independent Charge) of Ministry of Earth Sciences and Minister of State in the Prime Minister's Office; Minister of State in the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions and Minister of State in the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs

3. Shri Sriprakash Jaiswal

Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Coal and Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation

4. Shri Salman Khursheed

Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Corporate Affairs and Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Minority Affairs

5. Shri Dinsha J. Patel

Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises

6. Smt. Krishna Tirath

Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Women and Child Development

7. Shri Jairam Ramesh

Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Environment and Forests

MINISTERS OF STATE

1. Shri Srikant Jena

Minister of State in the Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers

2. Shri E. Ahamed

Minister of State in the Ministry of Railways

3. Shri Mullappally Ramachandran

Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs

4. Shri V. Narayansamy

Minister of State in the Ministry of Planning and Minister of State in the Ministry of

Parliamentary Affairs

5.	Shri Jyotiraditya Scindia	Minister of State in the Ministry of Commerce and Industry
6.	Smt. D. Purandeswari	Minister of State in the Ministry of Human Resource Development
7.	Shri K.H. Muniyappa	Minister of State in the Ministry of Railways
8.	Shri Ajay Maken	Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs
9.	Smt. Panabaka Lakshmi	Minister of State in the Ministry of Textiles
10.	Shri Namo Narain Meena	Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance
11.	Shri M.M. Pallam Raju	Minister of State in the Ministry of Defence
12.	Shri Saugata Ray	Minister of State in the Ministry of Urban Development
13.	Shri S.S. Palanimanickam	Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance
14.	Shri Jitin Prasad	Minister of State in the Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas
15.	Shri A. Sai Prathap	Minister of State in the Ministry of Steel
16.	Smt. Preneet Kaur	Minister of State in the Ministry of External Affairs
17.	Shri Gurdas Kamat	Minister of State in the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology
18.	Shri Harish Rawat	Minister of State in the Ministry of Labour and Employment
19.	Professor K.V. Thomas	Minister of State in the Ministry of Agriculture and Minister of State in the Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution

20. Shri Bharatsinh Solanki	Minister of State in the Ministry of Power
21. Shri Mahadev S. Khandela	Minister of State in the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways
22. Shri Dinesh Trivedi	Minister of State in the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare
23. Shri Sisir Adhikari	Minister of State in the Ministry of Rural Development
24. Shri Sultan Ahmed	Minister of State in the Ministry of Tourism
25. Shri Mukul Roy	Minister of State in the Ministry of Shipping
26. Shri Mohan Jatua	Minister of State in the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting
27. Shri D. Napoleon	Minister of State in the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment
28. Dr. S. Jagathrakshakan	Minister of State in the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting
29. Shri S. Gandhiselvan	Minister of State in the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare
30. Shri Tusharbhai Chaudhary	Minister of State in the Ministry of Tribal Affairs
31. Shri Sachin Pilot	Minister of State in the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology
32. Shri Arun Yadav	Minister of State in the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports
33. Shri Pratik Prakashbapu Patil	Minister of State in the Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises
34. Shri R.P.N. Singh	Minister of State in the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways
35. Shri Shashi Tharoor	Minister of State in the Ministry of External

6 Affairs

36. Shri Vincent Pala Minister of State in the Ministry of Water Resources

37. Shri Pradeep Jain Minister of State in the Ministry of Rural

Development

38. Ms. Agatha Sangma Minister of State in the Ministry of Rural

Development

Ministries that have remained unallocated, will be looked after by the Prime Minister.

This release issued at 2215 hrs.